Target: Men’s Health Survival of the Fittest

I’ve had to take a short break from my voyeuristic tendencies lately due to some unexpected commitments but all it has done is whet my appetite to rediscover some mighty OCRs to compete in.

And it’s almost if my emails could smell the desperation exuding from my every pore…

email1.JPG

Oh, Men’s Health, how you tease me.

So, as you may or may not know, Men’s Health Survival of the Fittest will be duly celebrating its 10 year anniversary this year, the self-proclaimed “UK’s original 10km urban adventure race series” – got that?

So what makes this event more badass than the others? Well, for one, this is the longest one I’ve stumbled across thus far as a base distance (I’m sure there are longer ones though). 10km? That’s twice the distance of the Inflatable 5k (medalgate aside) and roughly 2k longer than the Tough Mudder Half I did (see? I know the full is longer but I haven’t scoped it out fully yet).

So, for all intents and purposes – this is the longest event I’ve covered thus far.

Secondly, no mud. Now, mud is totally fun and all but every now and again I would quite like to finish a run covered solely in only my own sweat as opposed to anything else.

Thirdly, innovative use of objects I would never have considered for an OCR. I’m serious, check out some of the obstacles:

URBANJUNG.JPG

Kegs? For glorified Monkey Bars?! Genius. I can get on board with that.

CONTAINCITY.JPG

Casual use of the word ubiquitous as well, like it ain’t no big deal. Brilliant.

They even have an obstacle called “washing machine” and the description simply reads “…” which I think tells you everything you need to know.

Most OCRs I’ve carelessly stumbled across often find themselves waving the charity banner and MH:SOTF is no exception to this rule. Their current charity appears to be Children with Cancer UK – please click the image below to visit their website.

CWC.JPG
Of course, this isn’t fundamentally pivotal to my decision to compete in an event or not. Let’s be frank and realistic here – it’s the cost. I refuse to believe that the majority of these people don’t only run these events because of the cost of them. Maybe that’s a negative and skeptical view because I don’t have big enough pockets to burn that sort of cash freely, but at this early stage I can guarantee you that the price of an event has a tremendous bearing of whether I actually participate or not.

So, how much is MH:SOTF?             (NB: that’s really not as catchy as I was hoping it’d be)

Well, it’s a bit more complex than that.

There are currently multiple locations dotted around the UK hosting variations on the event. There’s:

  • London (The Sunny One) – 8th July
  • Cardiff (The Wild One) – 24th September
  • Nottingham (The Really, Really Wet One) – 7th October
  • Manchester (The Muddy One) – 28th October

Ah. Not as it first seemed.

(As a side note, they list the “course record” i.e. fastest completion time – ha! Good luck…)

So, it looks like the prices are varied per event (a breakdown of each can be found here) and what’s more, it seems that the £20 discount that I was so brazenly offered initially is actually only valid at the London event on the 8th July.

As it so happens, I am unable to attend that day – ho hum.

Nevertheless, here’s what my, discounted or otherwise, entrance fee covers:

included.JPG

Guilty confession: I’m often swayed by a free t-shirt. I don’t know why because medals and photos are nice (except when a third-party company asks you to remortage your house to pay for event photos *cough* Inflatable 5k partners *cough*) but I love the concept of getting a t-shirt upon completion.

It might be something to do with the fact that I already have medals from my Athletics days, or maybe it’s just because I love the idea of a “practical gift” (hint hint, Christmas/Birthday…) and t-shirts fall firmly into that category. Either way, t-shirts rule.

I’m also overwhelmingly curious as to what’s in that Men’s Health goody bag…

Alas, this event is currently a non-starter for me. My nearest event is London and I can’t even make the date. Maybe if I was to visit the homeland for the weekend then I’d consider one of those Midlandy events, but until then, I’m gonna sit this one out.

After all, 10km is just too darn far right now.

 

p.s. for those of you considering a last minute plunge in the capital then feel free to use the discount code!

BIG20

Please remember that this discount code is only for Solo entry and for the London event on Saturday 8th July 2017.

 

Leave a Reply

